They Might Be Giants: Birdhouse In Your SouliTunesAmazon

Forget the Oscars it's about NOSCA's

Forget the Oscars it's about NOSCA's

Published by Grace Mcgachy
5:39am 9th September 2019.

Forget the Oscars it's all about the NOSCA's.

The shortlist for the Norfolk Safer Community Awards has been released. 

The aim is to recognise people who go above and beyond in their service to the community.

The panel of judges consists of: 

  • Chief Constable Simon Bailey 
  • Mr. Mark Stokes - Office of the Police & Crime Commissioner 
  • Chief Superintendent Julie Wvendth - Superintendents' Association 
  • Mrs. Rachel Evans  -  Head of Learning & Development, Norfolk and Suffolk Constabularies 
  • Mrs. Julie Inns - UNISON 
  • Inspector Sam Hawkins - Norfolk Police Federation 
  • T/Inspector Kerry Woodbine - Staff Officer to Chief Constable Simon Bailey 
police officer

Chief Constable Simon Bailey would like to thank everybody who took the time to nominate people for the 2019 Norfolk Safer Community Awards. 
Chief Constable Simon Bailey praised the awards saying: 

"In a year where the complexities of policing and the significant impact austerity has had on the service is finally being acknowledged, it makes me extremely proud that we have still been able to work successfully with our communities and deliver a service they expect and deserve. 
"I am always keen to recognise people who go that extra mile with their professionalism and integrity - not just our officers and staff but members of our community and our valued volunteers. 
"Yet again, it's also pleasing to see communities having their say through the public votes."   

police jacket


Judges were impressed with the number of entries and the high standard presented and have now shortlisted in each category.  

All those shortlisted will be invited to the Norfolk Safer Community Awards presentation evening on Thursday 10th October.

Those shortlisted in each category are: 

  • Community Citizen(s) of the Year Claire Lincoln & Arnie McConnel 
  • The John (Cecil) Mason Volunteer of the Year Force Historians & Frederick Parry 
  • Young Citizen(s) of the Year award  Jacob Hanton & Thomas Lynn
  • Police Cadet of the Year  Police Cadet Jordan Cutter & Police Cadet Tegan-Leigh Humphrey
  • Student Officer of the Year  PC 149 Hathaichanok Sampao & PC 419 George Smith
  • Community Officer of the Year - Special Officer S/Sgt 7083 Bill Grint  S/Insp 7901 Andrew Nederpel
  • Community Officer of the Year - Police Officer PC 553 Edward Arbuthnot PC 820 James Marrison
  • Investigator of the Year T/DC 1075 Carl Carter  PC 648 Andrew Elvin 
police dog Neeko
King's Lynn PD Neeko is nominated for police dog of the year
  • Problem Solver of the Year  Insp 4057 Paul McCarthy and PC 228 Dan Potter </ Guy Slade
  • Police Staff Member of the Year  Dawn Clarke  Jane Munro 
  • The Peter Garland Special Recognition Award Chosen by the Chief Constable
  • The Hannah Witheridge Special Recognition Award - Individual/Team Chosen by the Chief Constable
  • The Bravery Award  Chosen by the Chief Constable
  • Response Team of the Year  Team 5, Great Yarmouth  Team 2, North Norfolk 
  • Police Dog of the Year PC 421 Annelly Miles and PD 113 Harley PC 53 Dave Carter and PD 104 Harry PC 68 Jamie Ward and PD 120 Neeko  PC 853 John Harwood and PD Dizzy
  • Outstanding Team of the Year  Neighbourhood Policing Team - Great Yarmouth Operation Moulin
  • Safer Neighbourhood Team of the Year  Dereham Safer Neighbourhood Team Harleston Safer Neighbourhood Team 

Contact Us

If you would like to submit a query or provide more information on this story please get in touch below.

Please wait...
  • Up to 3 JPG or PNG images, 2MB max size
  • We will always endeavour to credit you when we publish your pictures.
  • By uploading you are agreeing to this non-exclusive reuse, royalty-free, across all KL.FM 96.7 platforms, which extends to our partner broadcasters.
  • You retain copyright to all images.
  • If you would like to send us a video, please upload to YouTube or similar and paste the video URL into the message above.